Festive Season and FEASTING! Or over-eating?

Standard

Now that Christmas is over and our bellies have had time to relax and deflate…it’s time to look on to the impending future and NEW YEARS!

This entire period of festivities is a time of laughing, fun, time with family and lots of EATING!

IMG_1583DON’T PIG OUT!

Now…this time of the year doesn’t have to be the time for you to over eat or gain weight or be unhealthy! Although, I must admit I do sometimes just want to pig out BUT I have to remind myself that I have don’t have to hoover everything in sight! I can still be eat and live healthily this festive season.

Instead…have FUN with FOOD

Yes, let’s get to the GOOD stuff! There will no doubt be many parties, endless braai’s (i.e BBQ’s) and copious amounts of alcohol! Going to a BBQ doesn’t have to be stressful in terms of what you can eat! Here are some healthy and fun things to eat and put on the coals/fire:

  • Steak
  • Skinless Chicken Breast
  • Fish

My personal favourite though has to be the SKEWER! Chicken breast, vegetables (green, red, yellow peppers), red onion, mushrooms…actually WHATEVER you like! I included some dried peach just for fun! It’s really filling and just CHEWY GOODNESS!  tossed-green-salad1

Add a LOVELY green salad and you are good to go!

Vegging OUT!

Now, I realise that not everyone eats meat…so, I suggest when going to the BBQ, take along your tofu IMG_1588burgers, and remove the chicken breast from the skewer! I made one without meat as you can see in this image to the left…

Don’t be SKEERRRRDDD!

DON’T be afraid to go to a BBQ – EVER! You can have just as much fun as the others and still be healthy!

If you guys out there have any other cool healthy foods and recipes for BBQ snacks…please comment and let me know!

IMG_1591

6 responses »

  1. I love the chicken skewers I made it before and it was amazing, thanx for the awesome tips. do u perhaps some ideas on non alcoholic cocktails for the festive season.

    Regards
    Jc

    • Thanks JC! 🙂 Yeah, those chicken skewers are AWESOME! And so HEALTHY!

      Try out this cocktail…it’s called a Nojito:

      Add the lime juice, brown sugar and mint leaves in a Highball glass.
      Bruise a few mint leaves using a spoon so that their juice can get out.
      Let this mix rest for a few hours for best results.
      Fill the glass with ice and stir.
      Top with Club Soda (or Sprite).
      Add a twig of mint for decoration.

      It’s really cool and you can really just whip it up yourself really quickly!

    • Thanks so much 🙂 I really appreciate the comment and you taking the time to read my blog! I’m trying to do more regular posts but I don’t want to bombard people… But you have definitely given me more encouragement! Thank you

Leave a Reply

