Are Anti-Bacterial Soaps Killing Your Skin?

Standard

Palmolive_SoapI was watching a TV ad about anti-bacterial soap the other day and I suggested to a friend, who was with me at the time, that I should get that particular brand of soap. To my dismay my friend, who has a Master’s Degree in Medical BioScience, told me that it’s simply NO GOOD! “Why?” I asked, “How can this be?”

Bacteria is GREAT

I have been using anti-bacterial soap for quite some time now and was extremely surprised to find out that it’s not as good as these commercials make it sound. In terms that I understood she explained to me that one needs bacteria in the skin to kill/fight off sweat and other things which could cause other skin irritations. It also weakens the natural bacteria our very own produces.

Check out a more detailed but simple explanation here

Soap Suds That Work

My friend then informed me that I may as well use just a regular soap as the “anti-bacterial” ones are NO USE and cost more money that it’s worth.

Keep your skin healthy, hold on to the bacteria (which is necessary) and use a REGULAR soap!

Leave a Reply

